

# HISTORICAL DATA

### **Elected Officers**

Year	President	President Elect	Secretary	Exec. Secretary
2017	Jeff Packer	Jared Nebeker	Jordan Hulet	Tom Mathews
2016	Isabel Asensio	Jaff Packer	Mike Wood	"
2015	II	Chantal Esquivas	"	п
2014	Arron Wheeler	Isabel Asensio	II	"
2013	Bonnie Flint	Arron Wheeler	II .	п
2012	Jake Sigafus	Bonnie Flint	II .	"
2011	Stephen Van Orden	Jake Sigafus	"	п
2010	Wes Baden	Stephen VanOrden	Jake Sigafus	"
2009	Cheryl Hansen	Wes Baden	"	п
2008	Shauna Winegar	Cheryl Hansen	"	Blair Bateman
2007	Karl Powell	Shauna Winegar	"	п
2006	Tom Mathews	Karl Powell	Mary Bailey	James Taylor
2005	Jeff Stokes	Lawrence Carillo	Stephanie Thompsor	ן "
2004	Keith Vaught	Jeff Stokes	Kari Mecham	James Schindler
2003	Dennis Doyle	Keith Vaught	II .	Joan Patterson
2002	Alan Meredith	Dennis Doyle	II	п
2001	James Yoder	Alan Meredith	Audra Kasparian	п
2000	Pat Buckner	James Yoder	Janet Strong	-
1999	Jackie Young	Bat Buckner	Joan Patterson	-
1998	Tom Mathews	Jackie Young	II	-

### **Appointed Positions**

### **Executive Secretary/Treasurer**

2009-Tom Mathews 2007-2009 Blair Bateman 2005-2007 James Taylor

2003-2005	James Schindler
2001-2003	Joan Patterson

### **Newsletter Editor**

2009- Mike Wood2008 Bev Burdett

2002-2007 Bev Burdett & Shauna Winegar

1999-2001 Tom Mathews

1998 Pat Buckner, Joan Patterson

1997 Karl Powel

#### Historian

2016- Stacy Lyon

2010-2016 Cheryl Hansen

#### **SWCOLT Board Representative**

2016- Jill Landes-Lee
2015-2016 Gregg Roberts
2011-2014 Bonnie Flint
2003-2010 Tom Mathews

\*beginning in 2005, each state in SWCOLT appointed a representative to the Board. Previously, SWCOLT Board members had been by all SWCOLT members.

#### **ACTFL Delegate(s)**

Electra Fielding
Arron Wheeler
Cheryl Hansen

### **Annual Meeting Locations and Speakers**

Date	Location	Keynote Speaker
2018, Feb. 15	Weber State University	
2017, Feb. 9	Utah Valley University	Flavia Fleischer California State University, Northridge
2016. Feb. 18	Utah Valley University	Claire Kramsch University of California, Berkeley
2015, Feb. 19	Weber State University	Jacque Van Houten ACTFL President
2014, April 25-26	UFLA co-sponsored SWCOL	_T at Snowbird.
2012, Nov. 8	Weber State University	Marty Abbott ACTFL Executive Director

2011, Nov. 2	Utah Valley University	Ken Steward
2010, Nov. 11	Utah Valley University	Greg Duncan
2009, Nov. 5	Weber State University	Toni Thiesen ACTFL TOY 2008-09
2008, Nov. 6	Weber State University	Mimi Met
2007, Oct. 20	Murray High School. Half-day Conference	Ray T. Clifford Brigham Young University
2006, Nov. 2	Utah Valley State College	Judith Liskin-Gasparro University of Iowa
2005, Nov. 9	Utah Valley State College	Conan Grames International lawyer
2004, Nov. 4	Weber State University	Keith Cothrun ACTFL President
2008, April 3-4	UFLA co-sponsored SWCOL	T in SLC in April 2008.
2003, Nov. 5	Weber State University	Blaine Ray Developer of TPR Storytelling
2002, Nov. 21-24	ACTFL in SLC. Some session	ons done in conjunction with ACTFL
2001, Oct. 25	Brigham Young University	Jerry Ervin
2000, Nov. 9	Brigham Young University	Ray Clifford Defense Language Institute
1999, Oct. 8	Salt Palace. Met with UEA b	ecause of SWCOLT 2000 in SLC
1998, Nov. 11	Weber State University	Renate Schultz University of Arizona
1997, Nov. 7	Weber State University	June Phillips Weber State University

## **Teacher of the Year Awards**

2017	Jessica Louk Chantal Esquivias Alicia Giralt YinYao You	Elementary/French Secondary/Spanish Higher Ed/Spanish International/Chinese	Fox Hollow ES North Davis Preparatory Acad. Weber State University Draper ES
2016	Rachel McKeen Nieves Knapp	Elementary/French Higher Ed/Spanish	Diamond Ridge ES Brigham Young University
2015	Fernando Rubio	Higher Ed/Spanish	University of Utah
2014			
2013			
2012			
2011			
2010	Stacey Thackeray	Spanish	Fort Herriman MS
2009	Stephen Van Orden	German	Timpview HS
2008	David Nielsen	Spanish	Canyon View HS

## **Teacher Vitality Award**

2016	Amber Sidwell, Herriman HS
2015	Abigail Bacon, Rowland Hall Suzie Davis, Ogden HS Ryan Roque, Lakeridge JHS
2013	Heather Christopher, Bingham HS Tracy Randall, Bingham HS Stephen Van, Orden Timpview HS
2011	Carolyn Sandstrom, Fremont HS Karin Baumgartner, Utah State University Isabel Dulfano, University of Utah
2010	Ko-Yin Sung, Univ. of Utah Micah Wheatley, Centennial MS
2009	Jo Carmio, Alta HS
2008	Michael Wood, Timberline MS
2006	Michael Wood Richard Tate LaRue, Urquhart
2000	Lisa Wilson, Alpine SD French Georgia Geerlings, Salt Lake City SD French

### **Pat Buckner Collaboration Award**

2015	Frederick J. Poole & Wenrui Chen
2013	Utah ASL Teachers Association
2011	French Program at Lakeridge JHS Ryan Rocque, et al. UEN Program to Connect District Classrooms Alejandro López, et al.
2009	World Languages Depts. in Alpine District
2008	World Languages Dept. at Centennial HS Micah Wheatly, Paula Suarez, & Kathy Schlendorf

### **Friend of the Profession Award**

2017	Johanna Watzinger-Tharp, University of Utah
2016	Howard Stephenson, Senator, Utah 11th District
2012	Lew Kramer
2011	Alan Meredith, Brigham Young University

2002	Joan Patterson, UFLA Executive Secretary for more than a decade
2000	James Taylor, Brigham Young University
1993	Paul Luckau, Brigham Young University

## **Lifetime Achievement Award & Honorary Members**

2017	Ray T. Clifford, Brigham Young University Jeffrey Decker Corry, Cedar High School Ofelia Wade, Canyons School District
2016	Cheryl M. Hansen, Weber State University
2012	Erika Daines, Weber State University

## **Best of UFLA**

2018 Jorge Vazquez